Sunday, May 26

Newly Re-Elected Randolph County Commissioners Sworn In At Dec Meeting

ASHEBORO N.C. (RANDOLPH COUNTY GOVT) – Commissioners David Allen, Darrell Frye, and Hope Haywood were sworn in during the December 5 Randolph County Commissioners Board Meeting after being reelected during the midterm elections.

Judge James (Jimmy) Hill administered the oath of office to the three commissioners as well as three Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors William T. Alston, Carrie Guess-Slatosky, and Brian Ward.

At the meeting, the board elected Darrell Frye as chairman, and David Allen as Vice Chairman of the Board, effective January 2023. Both Frye and Allen served as Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively in 2022.

Commissioner Frye’s reelection to the Board marks the start of his eleventh consecutive four-year term. “To the citizens, I thank you for reelecting me this year and giving me this opportunity. It has been an honor to serve this county. I am grateful to serve the citizens and believe that overall our county is better today. Our job opportunities and educational opportunities especially have never been better. The pride and work ethic of the citizens of this county are unmatched. This is a wonderful group of people to have the privilege of representing,” said Chairman Frye.

Commissioner Allen will look to begin his third consecutively elected term in 2023 “It has been my honor and privilege to serve the people of Randolph County for the last eight years. I am grateful for the opportunity to continue that service for another term and am also thankful for the confidence that the people have entrusted in me. We have endured some chaotic and trying times over the past couple of years while having economic recruiting successes, but there is still much work to do. How we control and manage that growth in the coming years will define Randolph County for generations. I feel confident that we can make Randolph County even better than it is today.”

Commissioner Haywood was appointed by the Randolph County Republican Party to fill her late husband, Commissioner Stan Haywood’s, seat in July of 2018. Subsequently, Haywood was elected to a four-year term in 2019. Commissioner Haywood will begin her second consecutively elected term in 2023. “It has been my privilege to represent the citizens of Randolph County. These first four years have inspired me to work even more diligently to help us prepare wisely for the growth that is already beginning to come our way. I look forward to working with current commissioners, our staff, our municipalities, and our citizens as we face future challenges,” said Haywood.

The Randolph County Board of Commissioners meets monthly at the Historic Randolph County Courthouse (145 Worth Street in Asheboro), on the first Monday of each month at 6 pm, unless otherwise noted. Monthly commissioner meetings are open to the public and streamed live on the Randolph County Government Facebook and YouTube channel. To access the 2023 Commissioners Meeting schedule, visit the Randolph County Government website.

Source: Randolph County Govt – Press Release